The University

Democritus University of Thrace (DUTH) was established in July 1973 by Legislative Decree No. 87 of 27 July 1973, and started functioning in the academic year 1974-1975. Named "Democritus" in honor of the ancient Greek philosopher Democritus, who hailed from the town of Abdera in Thrace.

The administration of DUTH is headquartered in Komotini, which is the capital of the Administrative Region of Eastern Macedonia and Thrace.

The University is currently operating seven Faculties and eighteen Departments in four cities of Thrace - seven in Komotini, five in Xanthi, four in Alexandroupolis and two in Orestiada. Overall attending more than 15,000 students.

The University plays an important role in strengthening national and cultural identity of the region of Thrace, and contributes to the high level of education in Greece. Relying on the quality of teaching and research level, has secured a place among the best Greek Universities.

As a University, the DUTH is a Public Entity with complete autonomy. Supervised and funded by the State through the Ministry of National Education and Religious Affairs.